J.K. Rowling Top 10 Books

J.K. Rowling is a literary sensation, known worldwide for her captivating storytelling and the magical world she created in her Harry Potter series. But beyond the wizarding world, Rowling has written several other compelling books that deserve recognition. In this blog post, we will delve into J.K. Rowling’s top 10 books, exploring the depth and diversity of her writing.

1. Harry Potter Series:
No list of Rowling’s top books would be complete without mentioning the iconic Harry Potter series. This seven-book saga follows the journey of the young wizard, Harry Potter, and his friends Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley as they battle the dark wizard Lord Voldemort. The series captivated readers of all ages and became a cultural phenomenon, with its themes of friendship, love, and the struggle between good and evil.

2. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them:
Although not a traditional novel, this book offers a glimpse into the wizarding world through the eyes of magizoologist Newt Scamander. It showcases a collection of magical creatures, complete with descriptions and illustrations, and provides a deeper understanding of the magical creatures mentioned in the Harry Potter series.

3. The Casual Vacancy:
Departing from the fantasy genre, Rowling’s first post-Harry Potter book is a gritty and dark tale set in the seemingly idyllic town of Pagford. The story explores the complex web of relationships and secrets that unfolds when a local council member suddenly dies, leaving a “casual vacancy” in the community.

4. The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike Series):
Under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith, J.K. Rowling created the Cormoran Strike series, featuring private investigator Cormoran Strike. This gripping crime novel introduces readers to the troubled detective as he investigates the death of a supermodel in London, unravelling a web of deceit and dark secrets.

5. The Silkworm (Cormoran Strike Series):
In the second book of the Cormoran Strike series, Rowling takes readers deeper into the world of crime and mystery. When a controversial novelist goes missing, Strike is called upon to find him and unravels a twisted tale that connects to the dark underbelly of the publishing industry.

6. Career of Evil (Cormoran Strike Series):
The third book in the Cormoran Strike series brings a personal element to the detective’s life. When a mysterious package containing a severed leg is sent to Strike’s assistant, Robin, the duo embarks on a harrowing journey to uncover the identity of the sender and stop them before it’s too late.

7. Quidditch Through the Ages:
Similar to “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them,” this book is another companion piece to the Harry Potter series. It provides an in-depth exploration of the magical sport of Quidditch, its history, and its rules, immersing readers in the wizarding world’s favorite pastime.

8. The Tales of Beedle the Bard:
This collection of magical fairytales from the wizarding world offers a deeper understanding of the moral lessons and folk traditions embraced by witches and wizards. Each story is beautifully illustrated and provides a glimpse into the rich folklore of the Harry Potter universe.

9. Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination:
This book is a transcript of J.K. Rowling’s commencement speech at Harvard University in 2008. In it, she shares her own experiences with failure and the power of imagination, offering valuable insights and encouragement to readers of all ages.

10. Lethal White (Cormoran Strike Series):
The fourth book in the Cormoran Strike series takes readers on another thrilling adventure with the detective duo. This time, they become embroiled in a high-stakes political scandal, weaving through the corridors of power in London to uncover the truth.


1. Are J.K. Rowling’s books only for children?
While Rowling gained fame with the Harry Potter series, her books cater to readers of all ages. Her storytelling prowess and ability to create richly imagined worlds appeal to a wide audience.

2. Should I read the Harry Potter series before diving into her other books?
While not necessary, reading the Harry Potter series can enhance your understanding of the wizarding world and references made in her other books. However, each book can be enjoyed on its own merits.

3. What sets J.K. Rowling’s writing style apart?
Rowling’s writing style is often described as immersive and highly descriptive, allowing readers to fully immerse themselves in the worlds she creates. Her ability to weave intricate plots and develop complex characters is one of her strengths.

4. Can adults enjoy J.K. Rowling’s non-Harry Potter books?
Absolutely! Rowling’s non-Harry Potter books tackle a range of themes and genres, appealing to adult readers who enjoy suspense, mystery, and thought-provoking narratives.

5. Will there be new books from J.K. Rowling in the future?
While there may be future releases from J.K. Rowling, she has hinted at exploring different genres and writing styles, indicating that her future works may go beyond the realms of fantasy.

6. Is it necessary to read the Cormoran Strike series in order?
While the Cormoran Strike series follows a chronological order, each book can be read as a standalone novel. However, reading them in order allows for a deeper understanding of the characters and their development throughout the series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *