Boston Marathon Top 10 Finishers

The Boston Marathon is one of the most prestigious and iconic marathons in the world. Held annually on Patriots’ Day in April, it attracts thousands of runners from all over the globe who compete for a chance to be crowned a top finisher. In this blog post, we will introduce you to the top 10 finishers of the Boston Marathon, highlighting their incredible achievements and the records they set.

1. Geoffrey Mutai (2011): Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya holds the fastest time in Boston Marathon history, finishing the race in 2 hours, 3 minutes, and 2 seconds. Despite this remarkable feat, his time is not recognized as an official world record, as the Boston Marathon has an “point-to-point” course and is not eligible for record consideration.

2. Yuki Kawauchi (2018): Yuki Kawauchi of Japan surprised the running world when he emerged as the champion of the 2018 Boston Marathon. Known for his unconventional training methods and competitive spirit, Kawauchi’s victory made him a fan favorite and established him as one of the top marathoners of his generation.

3. Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot (2006): Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot of Kenya set the course record at the time in 2006, finishing the marathon in 2 hours, 7 minutes, and 14 seconds. Cheruiyot’s victory marked the first of his four Boston Marathon wins, solidifying his status as one of the race’s greats.

4. Dick Beardsley (1982): The 1982 race is infamous for its dramatic finish, where Dick Beardsley battled Alberto Salazar in what is often regarded as the greatest duel in Boston Marathon history. Beardsley ultimately finished in second place, but his performance remains etched in the memories of running enthusiasts.

5. Meb Keflezighi (2014): Meb Keflezighi made history in 2014 by becoming the first American man to win the Boston Marathon since 1983. His victory was seen as a symbol of resilience and triumph, coming just one year after the tragic bombing at the finish line of the 2013 race.

6. Bill Rodgers (1975): Bill Rodgers is a legendary figure in Boston Marathon history, having won the race four times between 1975 and 1980. His charismatic personality and incredible running prowess made him a beloved figure among runners and spectators alike.

7. Tatyana McFadden (2016): Tatyana McFadden is a wheelchair racer who has dominated the Boston Marathon in recent years. In 2016, she won her fourth consecutive Boston Marathon title, demonstrating her strength and determination as an athlete.

8. Joan Benoit Samuelson (1979): Joan Benoit Samuelson made history in 1979 by becoming the first women’s champion in Boston Marathon history. Her victory paved the way for the inclusion of women in the race, and she continues to be an inspiration to female runners around the world.

9. Haile Gebrselassie (2010): Haile Gebrselassie, a renowned Ethiopian distance runner, competed in the Boston Marathon in 2010 and finished in an impressive time of 2 hours, 8 minutes, and 52 seconds. While he didn’t win the race, his participation brought excitement and prestige to the event.

10. Galen Rupp (2017): Galen Rupp, an American long-distance runner, finished second in his Boston Marathon debut in 2017. His performance was hailed as a breakthrough for American distance running, as he became the first American man to finish on the podium in the race since 2010.

These top 10 finishers of the Boston Marathon represent the pinnacle of endurance running and have left an indelible mark on the race’s storied history. Their performances have captivated audiences and inspired countless runners to push their limits and strive for greatness.


1. What is the difference between an official world record and a course record in the Boston Marathon?
The Boston Marathon has a “point-to-point” course, which means it doesn’t meet the criteria for an official world record. However, the fastest time recorded in the race is recognized as the course record.

2. How often does the Boston Marathon take place?
The Boston Marathon is held annually on Patriots’ Day, which falls on the third Monday of April.

3. Are there any qualifying standards to participate in the Boston Marathon?
Yes, to be eligible to participate in the Boston Marathon, runners must meet specific qualifying standards based on their age and gender. These qualifying times ensure that only the most competitive runners earn a spot in the race.

4. Who holds the most Boston Marathon victories?
The record for the most Boston Marathon wins in the men’s division is held by Clarence DeMar and Bill Rodgers, who both have four victories. In the women’s division, women such as Roberta “Bobbi” Gibb, Joan Benoit Samuelson, Catherine Ndereba, and Tatyana McFadden have also achieved four wins to date.

5. How long is the Boston Marathon course?
The Boston Marathon course is 26.2 miles, which is the standard distance for all marathons worldwide.

6. Has any American runner won the Boston Marathon in recent years?
Yes, Meb Keflezighi became the first American man to win the Boston Marathon in over three decades when he secured victory in 2014. His win was a significant moment for American distance running.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *