Heisman Finalists Top 10

The Heisman Trophy is the most prestigious award in college football, given annually to the most outstanding player in the country. Each year, a group of finalists are selected based on their exceptional performances throughout the season. In this blog post, we will explore the top 10 Heisman finalists of all time, highlighting their remarkable achievements on the football field.

1. Tim Tebow – Known for his powerful throwing arm and running ability, Tim Tebow was a force to be reckoned with during his college career at the University of Florida. He won the Heisman Trophy in 2007 and was a finalist in 2008 and 2009. Tebow became the first sophomore to win the award and set numerous records during his time at Florida.

2. Derrick Henry – The Alabama running back had a standout season in 2015, leading the Crimson Tide to a national championship. Henry set the SEC record for rushing yards in a season and won the Heisman Trophy that year. His powerful running style and ability to break tackles made him a formidable opponent for any defense.

3. Lamar Jackson – Jackson became the youngest Heisman Trophy winner in history in 2016, at the age of 19. The Louisville quarterback dazzled with his dual-threat abilities, throwing for over 3,500 yards and rushing for over 1,500 yards that season. His speed and elusiveness made him a nightmare for opposing defenses.

4. Baker Mayfield – Known for his fiery personality and precise passing, Mayfield was a finalist for the Heisman Trophy in 2016 and 2017, winning it in the latter year. He led the Oklahoma Sooners to the College Football Playoff in both seasons and set multiple school and conference records along the way.

5. Reggie Bush – Bush electrified college football fans with his speed and agility during his time at USC. He won the Heisman Trophy in 2005 but later had to return it due to NCAA violations. Despite the controversy, his impact on the game cannot be denied, and he remains one of the most exciting players to watch in college football history.

6. Marcus Mariota – The Oregon quarterback won the Heisman Trophy in 2014 after a stellar season in which he threw for over 4,000 yards and accounted for 58 total touchdowns. Mariota’s ability to make quick decisions and deliver accurate passes made him a nightmare for defenses to game-plan against.

7. Deshaun Watson – Watson led the Clemson Tigers to the national championship game in back-to-back seasons in 2015 and 2016. He was a finalist for the Heisman Trophy in both years, ultimately winning it in 2016. Watson’s ability to make plays with his arm and legs made him a true dual-threat quarterback and a fan favorite.

8. Robert Griffin III – Griffin III, also known as RG3, won the Heisman Trophy in 2011, becoming the first player from Baylor University to receive the prestigious honor. His strong arm and exceptional athleticism made him a standout player to watch. Griffin III’s dynamic performances routinely left fans in awe and earned him a spot in the top 10 Heisman finalists of all time.

9. Troy Smith – Smith won the Heisman Trophy in 2006 as the quarterback for Ohio State. He led the Buckeyes to an undefeated regular season and a spot in the national championship game. Smith’s accuracy and ability to make plays in crucial moments made him a deserving recipient of the award.

10. Cam Newton – Newton had a remarkable season in 2010, leading the Auburn Tigers to a national championship victory. He won the Heisman Trophy that year, showcasing his incredible athleticism and playmaking ability. Newton’s combination of size, strength, and speed made him a unique and unstoppable force on the football field.

In conclusion, the Heisman Trophy finalists represent the best of the best in college football. These players showcased exceptional skills, leadership, and a determination to succeed. Their performances on the field captivated fans, and their legacies continue to inspire future generations of athletes.


1. Can a player win the Heisman Trophy more than once?
No, a player can only win the Heisman Trophy once in their college football career.

2. How are the Heisman finalists selected?
The Heisman Trophy finalists are chosen based on their performance throughout the season, as voted on by a select group of sports journalists and former winners of the award.

3. Has a defensive player ever won the Heisman Trophy?
Yes, Charles Woodson, a defensive back for the University of Michigan, won the Heisman Trophy in 1997, becoming the only primarily defensive player to win the award.

4. Are there any running backs in the top 10 Heisman finalists?
Yes, Derrick Henry, Reggie Bush, and several others in the top 10 list are running backs who had outstanding college football careers.

5. How many Heisman Trophy finalists are announced each year?
Typically, a group of three to five finalists are announced each year, although this can vary depending on the voting results.

6. Who votes for the Heisman Trophy winner?
A panel of sports journalists and former winners of the Heisman Trophy vote for the winner of the award. Their votes are kept confidential until the announcement.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *